The Texas Guardianship Association

The TGA is a non-profit organization dedicated to educating professional, family, and volunteer guardians as well as legislators and the general public on ethics, standards and best practices related to court-appointed guardianships in Texas. TGA is also committed to identifying and implementing less restrictive alternatives to guardianship and reliance on community supports and services whenever feasible. TGA strives to enrich the lives of those protected by guardianship as well as those who are responsible for the protection of others.

Our Mission

Educating involved professionals, consumers and the general public regarding guardianship and its alternatives.

Promoting the development of guardianship and alternative programs to serve and protect vulnerable individuals.

 Advocating for development and implementation of effective public policy regarding guardianship and related issues that are consumer sensitive.

President

Claudia Gonzalez  MSW,TxCG

Vice-President

Kirk Monroe BSW, TxCG

Secretary

Meghan Hutchinson MSW, TxCG

 

Treasurer

Catherine Vergara, RN

STAFF

Texas Guardianship Association

TGA is governed by nine volunteer members who are elected by the membership to the Board of Directors.  The Directors may serve for two consecutive three-year terms. Elections are held in the Fall for terms beginning in January of each year.  The TGA Board elects officers annually, and encourages members to become organizational leaders by running for election to the Board of Directors. 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Bruce Bower, JD,
Texas Legal Services Center,
Austin, Texas

bruce_bwr@yahoo.com

 

Lydia Escobar,TxCG,
 

66bellescobar@gmail.com

 

Steve Fields, JD,
Tarrant County Probate Court 2,
Fort Worth, Texas

sdfields@tarrantcounty.com

Claudia Gonzalez  MSW,TxCG,

Harris County Guardianship Program,
Houston, Texas

claudia.gonzalez@cps.hctx.net

 

Meghan Hutchinson MSW, TxCG,
Senior Source,
Dallas, Texas

mhutchinson@theseniorsource.org

 

Kirk Monroe BSW, TxCG,
Brazos Bend Guardianship Program, Rosenberg, Texas

kmonroe@brazosbendguardianship.org

Carol J. Renner, JD, TxCG,
Texas Guardian Services, Inc.,
Halletsville, Texas

carol@rennerlaw.com

 

Gene Valentini,
Office of Dispute Resolution, Lubbock, Texas

GValentini@co.lubbock.tx.us

 

Catherine Vergara, RN,
TxCG, Carefor,
Austin, Texas

cvergara@carefor.com  

STAFF

Executive Director

Terry W. Hammond, JD

terry@texasguardianship.org

(737) 777-3444

 

Member Services Coordinator

Anna L. Nava

anna@texasguardianship.org

(915) 490-2393

 

TEXAS GUARDIANSHIP ASSOCIATION | (979) 942-3434